Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rigid Chairs

Rigid Chairs

As some of you know I am new to this world but have been doing a lot of reading trying to become knowlegeable about my condition. I've seen a lot written about the advantages of rigid chairs and wonder if someone could comment on this topic. It would seem to me that it would be a pain to have to take off the wheels and then not have the chair fit easily into places that a folding chair fits. They also told me at rehab that you don't get a rigid chair for your first chair. Info would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Cathy

parapal

My first chair was a semi rigged and I hatted it. It was like a tank at a total weight of 33 lbs. Now I have a total weight of 18 lb rigged chair and would not trade it for non rigged chair. Just make sure that you think about what you get before its to late to change your mind. Ask your wheelchair rep for a demo to use for a period of time of both kinds. Its a very important decision, you have to deal with what you get for a awhile.

best of luck on the wheelchair hunt

I had a folding rental for about two weeks before my OT decided it wasn't sufficient for my lifestyle. I'm now using a demo chair (Invacare A4) that is much more manoueverable than the folding Quicky Breezy 600 that I previously had. But the A4 still weighs nearly 30 lbs. Fortunately, I'm in the process of getting a rigid chair of my own which will likely weigh 15-17 lbs. My advice: get the rigid chair if you want to have any semblance of your pre-injury mobility.

The chairs sound good while you are in them but what about transporting?

parapal

Folding:
    Creaky, heavy, and you still might have to take the wheels off to fit it in a car anyway.
    Rigid:
    Lighter, less parts, and well, I like it, it is my first chair after several months of a loaner folder that sucked.

Some things that are a pain:
    Removable foot rests, too much garbage to assemble.
    Desk style armrests, too big and heavy.