Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pic of me and my new best friend...

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

pic of me and my new best friend...

hey!

haven't posted here in a while, and I thought I would share a photo of me and my new canine companion. We've been home from training for 2 weeks now and everything is going well. He really takes the focus off of me in public and serves as an "ice breaker" also! It's just amazing how trained these dogs are and how much more independent they make you I would highly recommend a service dog to anyone!

I graduated last year w/ a successor dog!
    I couldn't live w/o one!!

Many congratulations to you.
    I was placed w my Service Dog in Dec '99
    Its awesome, your pictures are great!

I had the chance to work with a companion dog while I was in the rehab hospital. I'd love to have a companion dog, I'm just not sure if I really need one.

How long did you have to wait. The letter I got from canine companions said there is currently a 4 year waiting period! I've researched other places, but none are available in my area.

Can he/she push or pull a shopping cart and carry crocery bags? That is really the only thing I need help with.

_____
    Learn from the mistakes of others, you won't live long enough to make all of them yourself.

Kyle, awesome photo - congrats.

Btw, what's his/her name?

You can train your own dog. I know several people who have done this due to the long waiting lists with most programs. Keep in mind that assistance and companion dogs are related, but not the same. Companion dogs are more for social interaction and stress reduction. Assistance animals do functional activities generally.