Parking on street corners breaks law if crosswalk, disabled ramp blocked

Q I live in a neighborhood that has become very crowded with people parking to attend sports programs at a nearby school yard. Vehicles are increasingly parking on the street corners, literally curving around the corners, constricting the intersection to the point that it is difficult to see and drive around the corner.

Maybe laws have changed since I was a new driver 30 years ago, but I thought it was a violation of the vehicle code to park on a corner. In fact, I thought it was illegal to park within a specific distance from a corner. Am I right or wrong?

Mark Wagner
Los Gatos

A Parking at or near a corner isn't in and of itself illegal. However, parking on a crosswalk (marked or unmarked) is illegal. Police say that while most people know not to park in a marked crosswalk, most aren't familiar with ``unmarked'' crosswalks, and people will probably continue to park on the corner without a marked crosswalk. Call your local public works department and request a red curb be painted on the corner, which would be more obvious. One other note about corners: It is illegal to park at the corner if there is a ramp for disabled access or an access sign for the disabled in addition to the lowered curb on the sidewalk.

Q The railroad tracks on Thomas Road in Santa Clara have been decommissioned and are out of use. Why can't they be covered? Even if you go over them at 5 to 10 mph, they can cause stress to one's car.

Satnam Bains
San Jose

A Union Pacific will remove the tracks within the next year. After that, city crews will repave the area and smooth rough spots.