Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 123456789101112 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 161

Thread: Member Intros

  1. #11
    Senior Member ~Patrick~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lewistown,Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,517
    Hello, I'm Patrick. 29. One year post Oct 8. Fell 15' while hunting, landing on a log.T-10 - T 12 incomplete. Going back to school starting January for Architectural Technology. Married. Two boys 7&9. Enjoy anything outdoors. Lewistown, Pennsylvania

    ...act like a survivor not a victim.

    [This message was edited by wheelinarcher on Oct 18, 2002 at 10:08 PM.]

  2. #12
    Senior Member dogger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mitchell , Qld. Australia
    Posts
    2,239

    station ?

    lizbv , a station is what you would call a ranch in the US . I own 20,000 acres so it is a bit bigger than most peoples idea of a farm , though not large by Aussie standards .

    thank you
    dogger

  3. #13
    hi, im kimmy, 22/female. i live on long island, NY. 5 years ago i fell off my aunts horse and ended up a c5/6 quad. i work as an outreach worker for the Girl Scouts. kids are great! i love going to concerts, the beach, hanging with friends and my boyfriend. thats all for now

  4. #14
    Senior Member TD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    Posts
    649

    I thought we had done this once before! LOL

    But I guess it's just my brain damage again!

    I am Tom a 51 year old T4 incomplete with mild to moderate brain damage. I was injured in a head-on collision on April 1, 1995. I guess I should have known better!! The driver of the vehicle I was riding in was not drunk, he just did something stupid like try to pass a semi in a no passing zone. I live in Phoenix, AZ and was once a Sales Tax Specialist. It has proved impossible to find work because of memory and motivation problems due to my traumatic brain injury. I love fishing, swimming, playing pool, am a science fiction enthusiast and love this site!! I have been working with computers since 1981 and on the internet since 1992 (Pre-Windows ).

    "And so it begins."

  5. #15
    i'm scott, 22 yrs old, live in charlottesville, virginia... c6/7 as of 1/11/99 from a downhill skiing accident. i'm finishing up college in december @ james madison university w/ a degree in technical communication. i love doing stuff outdoors, coffeeshops, hanging w/ friends, music... basically chill stuff, despite the restlessness inside me. um, let's see... i'm very sarcastic... yes, i'm single, but at peace about it & finding satisfaction in the Lord... i love travelling & my hobby is photography. regardless, i'd give anything to have my freedom from sci back.

  6. #16
    Senior Member Erin81079's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bryant, Ar.,USA
    Posts
    438
    TD~ I think we have done this before, but it's always good to do it again .

    My name is Erin and I'm 23. I was injured on April 10th/11th, 2002 at midnight. I had 3 glasses of wine in me (drank from about 8:30 to 11:30)and a hangover from the previous night. I was driving too fast and had too many things going on at once; I ended up running off the road and hitting a brick wall. The car was flipping and spun on it's top upside down, crushing me inside. Luckily I was the only person involved in and hurt in the accident; otherwise I would be a complete wreck! I am now a T11/12 para incomplete. I enjoy being outdoors and being around people. I do pretty much everything I did before my accident except ride horses; however, I am sure that will come in due time. I am going back to school in January for Pre-med and then off to medical school hopefully. I am planning to become a Rehab physician.

    CJ033~ I can only imagine your pain, but I am really glad that you are still with us. I'm sure Tana is watching over you daily, and she is probably really proud of you . You are in the right place; this is a great site for advice and fellowship. I'm occasionally in the chatroom from time to time if you need someone to talk to. Good luck in everything you do.

  7. #17
    Senior Member LauraD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southwest WI USA
    Posts
    695
    Hi! I am LauraD, mom of Heather, 10 year old T-12 complete 2 years post. Both of my children were in the accident with their aunt who was killed. My son Michael,13, came away with a large gash on his forhead.

    Heather is active in Girl Scouts and she goes every week for therapuetic horse riding and is now an independent rider again. She has not let her injury slow her down one bit. She loves to read and watch movies.

    I am 38 and finally went back to work full time this year after only subbing at school as an aide for the past 2 years. I work at the high school with a 15 year old girl with CP. I love it. The hours are perfect. I am home when my kids are and I get my summers off. I am also a co-leader for Heather's girl scout troop. I enjoy reading, and watching Michael's football and baseball games and wrestling matches. Yeah, I keep busy but I love it!

  8. #18
    Member iyerraj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    60
    Joining carecure is the wisest thing I've done since her injury. Not exactly a newbie, but still more or less a lurker in the shadows. I'm not injured, I am engaged to a wonderful woman who broke her T6-7-8 when she fell 20ft just about a month before our planned wedding.
    I know she's on these forums but don't know which username; another lurker in the shadows
    Both of us are software consultants, working at different cities now about 800 miles apart. A "weekend couple". Will plan the wedding in a few months after I relocate to where she is.

    Jeff, if you could use an offshore helping hand for the enhancements you do to this site, you know who to ask.

  9. #19
    Senior Member Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Argao, Cebu, Philippines
    Posts
    6,865

    Thanks, Iyerraj!

    Wise has mentioned several ideas of what to do next with the site. There are lots of possibilities. I only formally work 20 hrs/wk for the Keck Ctr and have lots to do on our research software and databases. That leaves little time for web development. With some volunteer help we could probably get some of these ideas implemented!

    ~See you at the SCIWire-used-to-be-paralyzed Reunion ~

  10. #20
    Senior Member Clipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,516
    Hello everyone. I am a 31-year-old female, C5/6 complete and 13 years post-injury. I broke my neck in a car accident during my first week of college. I have a BS in journalism and political science, and a professional certificate in aviation/aerospace safety systems. Next spring I will complete my master's degree in aeronautical science.

    I am currently vice president of a consulting firm that specializes in crisis communications. I am the firm's aviation safety guru. I write emergency response exercises, audit airline and aviation industry safety programs, and assist in preparing companies after airline crashes.

    In my previous career, I was an editor at The Washington Post.

    My hobbies include traveling, photography, collecting aviation items, writing, reading and playing with my puppy, Aero.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •