Thread: Questions for working Quads

Questions for working Quads

I'm new to this bulletin board and have found it very interesting and full of information. I'm just starting to look into the rehabilitation programs and was wondering what kind of jobs that quadriplegics are doing. I am a C 5/6 quad. What level of injury are you? What kind of schedule you have? Do you work full-time or part-time? Do you work at home or in an office? If you work out of your house, do you have an attendant with you? If you do, what kind of program was it that was able to provide that for you? How are you working your schedule around your personal hygiene schedule? Any information would be helpful!
    Thanks --
    Mia

Hi there. Hope this helps ...

- I'm C5/6 complete, 12 years post

- I work full-time from my home office (very convenient and much easier on my body) but I also have a desk at my company's office. I can access the office server from here, and I've set it up so I can reach things I need.

- My first career was in journalism -- editor at a newspaper. I worked nights (5 pm til 2 am), which fit my needs. In my second career, I generally start work in the late morning and go until I reach my daily hourly billing target. Working at home gives me great flexibility and allows me to take care of personal stuff at my own pace in the morning. If I'm feeling extra tired, I just sleep in. I adjust my schedule accordingly.

- No attendant needed. Once I'm up, I'm fully independent. The key is in designing your home/workspace so that you can use it and reach things.

Clipper, I read your profile and your job sounds FASCINATING.

C3/4, psychology researcher.

I work p/t at a rehab facility & p/t at my home PC, depending on what the task is. Flex time is crucial for me.

My aide helps me with my filing, retrieving, faxing, etc. I am independent on the computer once someone sets me up.