Thread: Your experiences of rehabilitation

Your experiences of rehabilitation

Hi everyone! I'm a student nurse doing a presentation about SCI. Can anyone help me identify the "psychological, social and cultural factors" which affect rehabilitation? Thanks, Emilie

From the Desk of Mary, spinal nurse in the making:

Nice to meet you!!! I am also a student nurse, getting out in a few weeks... how about you?

Let me help you a bit here, OK???

Hey Guys!!!!!

I remember these papers!! Help her out and be nice for goodness sake!!! Emilie, post some specific questions and some of my GREAT AND SWEET FRIENDS WILL HELP YOU. OK? They have a variety of backgrounds and experience and injuries and some are caregivers and family members - you came to the right place.

If they don't find your thread I'll hunt around after clincals today and hound them out for you.

If you are like me your paper is due soon...oh yeah- so is mine- dammit.
    Also start reading some of the posts in the Life Forum, you will get lots from there.

More to come

Mary

Rehab

My rehab was almost 24 years ago, so my data might be stale, but I'll help in any way I can. Please feel free to e-mail me privately if you wish.

The subject of psychological issues in rehab came up about a month ago. I posted the question over at New Mobility. The response I received was pretty universal both from those injured long ago as I was and those recently injured.

The consensus was that psychological issues are largely ignored in rehabilitation. Rehabilitation programs tend to focus strictly on the physical aspects of recovery. Little or no psychological counseling or other services are provided as part of rehabilitation. As a result there are reports of a high incidence of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, often not manifesting until years after injury.