Thread: OMG--How can people live with out knowing about their injury.

OMG--How can people live with out knowing about their injury.

Sorry guys, but I just had to vent somewhere. I have been chatting with this girl for a few months now. She is SCI and knows nothing. She has been injured for 8years and doesn't even know her level of injury. She needs someone to cath her, and didn't even know what a bowel program was. From what I could gather she is in diapers24/7 for bowel incontinence. COME ON!!! I totally understand people using them as back ups, but to just have no program and live like that!!!!! I am shockedthat her parents and doctors have let this situation occur. She is totally capable of doing this all by herself(She is a T injury or lower from what I gather. She says waist, so I figure T12 or lower maybe??) It saddens me to think that this girl is living her life this way. I begged her to look at this site and spinalinjury.net, but I am sure she won't . I think she is angry with me, but I told here it scares me that she knows nothing/does nothing about her SCI.

Wow!

This is indeed truly sad!

I agree one hundred percent. Her life must be less than half what it could be. Maybe we should all send her emails telling her our stories...

I'm glad at least you are trying to help her.

~See you at the SCIWire-used-to-be-paralyzed Reunion ~

Be careful