Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fattest off road tires for a standard 559 wheel?

Fattest off road tires for a standard 559 wheel?

Eventually I'm thinking about buying a spare set of wheels just for backup, but thinking maybe I can keep some big fat off road tires on them for when I go camping and whatnot.

Anybody fit some wider than standard (and here I guess I'm comparing to the schwalbe marathons I always run) tires on their chair?

I'm new to 559, used to have 590 wheels, and the selection of tires was very limited in that size.

on my 559's I use Continental Town and Country tires which are 26x2.1". I think you might be able to get away with some 2.3-2.5" tires on them. They are great for camping, dirt trails, , grass, etc. But not so good on snow. They have a nice spine down the middle so its a smooth ride but has enough grip on the sides. I used to have 590's but now are on 559. Since my 559 wheels are my daily wheels, I plan on getting 540 wheels with Kenda Nevegal tires as they are roughly the same rolling diameter of my 559 with schwalbe's.

https://www.biketiresdirect.com/prod...SABEgIW7vD_BwE

I was also thinking about getting these: https://www.biketiresdirect.com/prod...roller-26-tire
    http://www.adaptivesportsforums.com/

I love sports! Wheelchair Basketball, Sled Hockey, Mono-Skiing, and Handcycling.

Blog Entries
    I use Maxxis Holy Rollers on a standard 1" wide rim. They're like 2.65" wide. They're on a 508 rim though. They match 559 with Marathons perfectly in outer diameter.
    "I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it." - Edgar Allen Poe

"If you only know your side of an issue, you know nothing." -John Stuart Mill, On Liberty

"Even what those with the greatest reputation for knowing it all claim to understand and defend are but opinions..." -Heraclitus, Fragments

Quote Originally Posted by Oddity View Post