Thread: Advice on pressure relief in bed

Advice on pressure relief in bed

I've read a lot of threads on pressure relief for beds, everything from padding techniques to overlays to full blown hospital beds with LAL(low air loss) mattresses. I've slept on a regular bed with no turning for about 16 years with no issues. I'm a C6 quad, 50 y/o now and I have lost weight recently and I am seeing redness on my hip and ankle bones. Should I try doing pressure relief by using a topper or a LAL mattress or is that overkill and would I be better off using foam to pad above and below pressure points? Or is it a matter of money? I'd like to get a topper like a Geo Matt or Roho or an LAL mattress but worry about cost or effectiveness in the case of overlays. Maybe people could share their experiences, what worked, didn't work and get recommendations from SCI Nurses?
    Last edited by redbandit; 10-08-2019 at 09:56 AM.

Blog Entries
    if I was an sci nurse, I might be saying that it's all a matter of if you're able to shift yourself in bed.....mind you I didn't say sh!t yourself in bed, we all can do that and do that very well, I mean move yourself about to relieve pressure on those red spots.
    sci nurse, what say you?

I can shift some but probably not enough to relieve pressure points. I can start on my side then sort of roll backwards with my upper body, but my lower body doesn't move as much so I remain on my hip with maybe a slight change to the pressure point but not significantly. Unfortunately, I am an accomplished bed shitter, I proved that last night. Ah, the joys of SCI!

I have been using this for the past year it is fairly cheap so you could try it and see if it works for you

https://www.ebay.com/i/401879153619?ul_noapp=true

Nevada

There are turning mattresses, both LAL and foam over air chamber. None are cheap though. Not turning at all at night can catch up with you as you age, both skin and lung-wise.

(KLD)