Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to handle operation

How to handle operation

My doctors claim I should remove a kidney due to a small mass. Not saying I believe them.

Suppose I did this? How to prepare?

My first concern is convalescence. I can barely hold things together now. I do not think I could manage post surgery. Also my bowel program barely works now, requires 3 hours in toilet and all my energy. I think it would fail utterly post surgery, leading to colostomy.

The second concern is that when I even think about going into surgery for an operation I feel almost like I am having a a panic attack. I have had a lot of bad experiences in hospitals. I think I’d lose my nerve and cancel.

Any advice for trying to prepare for an operation and its convalescence?
    Last edited by xsfxsf; 08-09-2019 at 04:18 PM. Reason: clarify question and focus, rewrote

You have a couple choices; bend over and kiss your ass goodbye or get the operation. A colostomy is not the worst thing that can happen. I used to feel the same way but once it got to the point of having one or kissing my ass goodbye, I had it done. Best thing I ever did for my later years in life. No more hours of sitting on the pot. Instead, I had to find a new hobby to fill up the hours I spent in the bathroom before.

I have a feeling you're stronger than you think you are. For myself, I couldn't bear the thought of having a mass on my kidney that docs feel would spread. It'd either get it out of me or keep me comfortable til I pass.

Patrick I edited the post to make it sound less dire.

Main question is how to prepare for surgery.

Ideally for example I would like private, quiet, clean rooms in the hospital and rehab, enough skilled nursing help in the hospital for transfers without hugely long waits, and lots of attendant help at home the first few days. And some plan for bowel management. Neither seem probable.