Thread: Baclofen pump - Building up a tolerance to medication

Baclofen pump - Building up a tolerance to medication

I've been using baclofen pumps for over 20 years to help with spasticity. In the last few years, my torso has become extremely tight and wants to pull to one side. Last night,, I had a fan blowing on me and the wind was hitting my side. My body was reacting to that and stiffening up. My legs are fine. There's no spasticity in that area . It just seems to be in my upper body. The main muscles it seemed to be tightening are behind my lower back and hips.

My muscles used to be fairly loose in my torso, and I'm wondering if I have built up a tolerance to baclofen to some degree. Has anyone with a baclofen pump dialed down your dose of the medication and then tried going back up? Have you noticed that you have built up a tolerance to medication?

As I age, I am more susceptible/reactive to moving air too, "my" seat in our living area is under an a/c vent, and when it kicks in it affects me roughly. I have taken to wearing long sleeve shirts in the house for this reason, even in Tx summer. The coolness is part of it, but just the moving air of a ceiling fan will get me too.

I have had a pump for about 15yrs. I have not dialed down, but did get dialed down. Last pump change, I'm on my 3rd, they were worried that the old pump was not doing it's job, I am very high level of baclofen, at 981/day, and they were worried I might overdose with that setting on the new pump. So they set the new pump for like 200 out of the gate. Man, I had spasms and bad tone like the old days and I quickly got them to reset to my level. I have been at this level for many years w/o changing, so even though that was a big jump down, it kinda showed that I have not built up a tolerance, and still needed that level but no more.