Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Help me pick out my first manual chair

Help me pick out my first manual chair

Hey there,

Newbie here to SCI and this awesome community. I'm looking to get my first manual chair soon, and hoping to find some advice from the been-there done-that geniuses on this forum that can help me avoid making the common mistakes we all make when entering new terrain. :-)

A little about me: I'm a 6' 160lb 41-year-old male, injured last June in a climbing accident. I've got a C5/C6 incomplete Asia B diagnosis with triceps and wrists, but no fingers and no core below the chest. I did my inpatient rehab at Spaulding in Boston, and continue there with my outpatient care for the time being. I'm working with the PT team there on my wheelchair needs. But it's been tricky: they advised me to get a power chair while I was still an inpatient, and my Medicaid insurance program has been batting me around for the last nine months with appeals so I still don't even have that.

My PT's plan was and is to submit a follow-up insurance request for a manual chair once I've got the power chair in hand. But frankly, given Medicaid pressures over the last year, I don't expect them to grant me a manual chair. So I think my best course of action is going to be paying for one out-of-pocket and hoping that the power chair comes through as planned. The good news is that I have a loaner power chair, as well as a loaner manual chair (a Quickie GPV Competition that sadly doesn't really fit me ) courtesy of Numotion.

A couple of considerations for my situation:
    1) I don't think I'm going to get in the habit of transferring to a car, and will instead get a minivan with a ramp to help protect my shoulders.
    2) My PT has advised me that I should get power assist wheels. After doing some research, I really like the look of the Twions. Hopefully their FDA woes don't complicate things.