Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using Uber?

Using Uber?

Hello All,
    Pretty much a newbie here who has a question. I am a T10C as of early February this year. With that said I am doing great, getting out and about and active. With that said because I am dealing with CT DMV I am still not driving myself. I have a PT appointment tomorrow and my wife has to be in the city for work and I was wondering how Uber would work for me? I am in a lightweight rigid chair, transfers are no issue at all, I can break down my chair myself but with that said I would need help getting the frame in and out of the car. Have any of you in my situation used Uber? How did it work out?

Thanks

Cheers,
    Jim

Uber has a couple of dedicated options in addition to its normal options: uberAssist and uberWAV. uberASSIST supposedly can be used for people with manual chairs who might need a bit of extra space or some assistance, https://www.uber.com/en-SG/drive/resources/uberassist/ . uverWAV provides full wheelchair accessible vehicles, with ramps or lifts. You can see these by swiping left from the main app screen (at least on ioS).

I have never used either however. I can't use uberASSIST as I'm in an electric outside the house, and every time I've tried to look for a car on uberWAV, no cars have been available (Seriously, over several years, I've never seen a single car available on uberWAV).

I really wish uberWAV worked well though, it would be awesome for me if it did.

Finally of course the main Uber options, possibly uberBlack, would likely work.

You can use any uber/lyft type service if you can get yourself into the car.

you don’t need to break the chair down yourself tho it might be quicker sometimes. I know uber trains their drivers how to help with wheelchairs, and I imagine Lyft does as well.