Thread: Tilite Flip Up Foot Rest Usefulness?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Tilite Flip Up Foot Rest Usefulness?

Hello All,
    Edit: I just saw that I have the adjustable angle footrest and not the flip up version. I am still not a fan of drilling into the tubing.

So I just found out that when using the flip up footrest on a ZRA and a Freewheel Attachment that you need to pin the footrest in a fixed position. Reading the instructions for the Freewheel it shows that you use two #8 fasteners to secure the footrest and that raises the red flag because I question the chance of shearing this fasteners off over time. I will be spending a lot of time in this chair outside off the beaten path so I am thinking that the Freewheel will be a very useful item. I am a total newbie so I do not have any experience in what the flip up foot rest gets you but I can see that it might be helpful but not really sure. I am wondering if I should change my order to get one of the fixed foot rests or maybe get both a flip up and fixed depending on cost and how easy they are to switch out.

Thoughts?

Cheers,
    Jim
    Last edited by LJH; 05-09-2018 at 04:49 PM.

I have the flip-up footrest. When I tried the Freewheel several years ago, I got a fixed footrest to use with it. The Freewheel did not work for me; I ended up with a hand-cycle attachment instead, and put the flip-up back on.

I flip the footrest frequently because I can stand. When grocery shopping, the footrest gets quite a workout.
    Chas
    TiLite TR3
    Dual-Axle TR3 with RioMobility DragonFly
    I am a person with mild/moderate hexaparesis (impaired movement in 4 limbs, head, & torso) caused by RRMS w/TM C7&T7 incomplete.

"I know you think you understand what you thought I said, but what I don't think you realize is that what you heard is not what I meant."
    <
    UNKNOWN AUTHOR>

Quote Originally Posted by chasmengr View Post