Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Time for a new vehicle. Recommendations?

Time for a new vehicle. Recommendations?

I have been using full-size conversion vans for over 30 years now. I?m a C6 complete manual chair user and I prefer to transfer into a drivers seat for safety and comfort. It?s time to get a new vehicle but the Braun lift that I have been most comfortable using is no longer available. I weigh 160# including the chair. New lifts for full-size vans are made for 700# users (including chair) and remain unattractively bulky. I don?t plan to use a powered chair in the near future and rampvans can be challenging due to the slope and risk of slipping a quadgrip going up the ramp. Looking for creative ideas.

What vehicle options are available that you?d recommend?

Not really available but you asked for creative ideas...

i think we will go sprinter next, i love the full size vans. currently have a chevy explorer van. the vmi fold away lifts look nice and you can have both transfer seats which i like for when i dont want to drive. mini vans are small and i cant consistently get up the ramp either. c5-6 here too.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamblvr View Post
    I have been using full-size conversion vans for over 30 years now. I?m a C6 complete manual chair user and I prefer to transfer into a drivers seat for safety and comfort. It?s time to get a new vehicle but the Braun lift that I have been most comfortable using is no longer available. I weigh 160# including the chair. New lifts for full-size vans are made for 700# users (including chair) and remain unattractively bulky. I don?t plan to use a powered chair in the near future and rampvans can be challenging due to the slope and risk of slipping a quadgrip going up the ramp. Looking for creative ideas.

What vehicle options are available that you?d recommend?
    Bike-on.com rep
    John@bike-on.com
    c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
    sponsored handcycle racer