Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Has anyone seen research like this idea?

Has anyone seen research like this idea?

I've had a concept for an SCI "cure" in my head for a long time...since my injury really. It was one of the first things I thought of when I started thinking about ways to cure SCIs. Since that time I've read dozens of research papers and scanned hundreds more and I've never seen anything like this so I'm going to put it out there in case anyone else has heard or read of such things.

I'm a sensors person. I have a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering and I've used that background to design and characterize sensors of various types for the last 30+ years. So I'm used to thinking in terms of moving signals around.

The idea I had was to bypass the injury area entirely. For those with longer injury sites (mine is a T3-T7) you would lose all function from the site permanently with this approach because the concept is to literally bypass that site.

So here's how it might work:
    1. The cord would need to be cleanly cut above and below the site.
    2. The freshly cut cord would be attached to a CCD array that has been embedded in laboratory-grown tissue designed to supply bloodflow, etc. to the cord-CCD interface.
    3. The two CCD arrays (above and below the injury site) would detect cord signals (chemical reactions on the surface of the CCDs) and transmit them to the other CCD.
    4. Upon receipt of a signal from the other CCD the recipient CCD would then cause a chemical reaction at its own CCD-to-cord interface.

Essentially the CCDs are being used as chemical reaction detectors and emitters.

Once you can get signals across the injury site, one would need extensive training to get the brain to remap all the new connections, but neuroplasticity should make that possible.

The big unknown part for me lies in what potentials and reactions would be needed at the CCD-to-cord interface.