Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: vBulletin does not recognize special characters

  1. #1

    vBulletin does not recognize special characters

    Why doesn't vBulletin software recognize simple special characters like the degree symbol? You know the little circle superior to the numbers. Type 75? and you get 75?, not the little superior circle.

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by gjnl View Post
    Why doesn't vBulletin software recognize simple special characters like the degree symbol? You know the little circle superior to the numbers. Type 75? and you get 75?, not the little superior circle.

    75

  3. #3
    Senior Member lynnifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Windsor ON Canada
    Posts
    18,352
    ? ?

    Alt 0176

    Dammit .. never noticed that before.
    Make America Sane Again. lol

    T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

  4. #4
    Wimmens love to make sammiches

    But can't program html

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnifer View Post
    ? ?

    Alt 0176

    Dammit .. never noticed that before.

  5. #5
    Senior Member lynnifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Windsor ON Canada
    Posts
    18,352
    Dems fightin words San Franny..
    Make America Sane Again. lol

    T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by t8burst View Post
    75
    I think you have to use the exponent function for that, which is available only if you use Go Advanced reply.

    (KLD)
    The SCI-Nurses are advanced practice nurses specializing in SCI/D care. They are available to answer questions, provide education, and make suggestions which you should always discuss with your physician/primary health care provider before implementing. Medical diagnosis is not provided, nor do the SCI-Nurses provide nursing or medical care through their responses on the CareCure forums.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by t8burst View Post
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by SCI-Nurse View Post
    I think you have to use the exponent function for that, which is available only if you use Go Advanced reply.

    (KLD)
    Yes you do. In the example below, I followed your suggestion "KLD" (the other moderator was less than helpful). I selected "Go Advanced," then the superscript, typed 75 and option/shift "8." You can see the result. Thanks for your suggestion.

    I also notice if you copy something from an article on the internet and paste it into a post, and if that copy has special characters you get question marks instead.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by lynnifer View Post
    Dems fightin words San Franny..
    Bah, moved out of the city, too many smelly hippies. Down in the silly con valley now. Oh and KLD has it wrong, there is a way to put any special character in the text for example one for prescriptions:

    Or one you would like
    ℠ (because I know you are fond of service marks).


  9. #9
    Senior Member Oddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    2,471
    Blog Entries
    1
    I?ve been having text encoding issues for a little while now. Maybe a couple/few weeks.

    Quotes and apostrophes aren?t being converted correctly at post time. I can go back and edit them in, and they show up fine during preview, but during the initial post encoding they?re not being recognized and are being replaced with question mark (normal for encoding error).

    I don?t know if something changed in the character set of iOS, which recently updated to v11, or what, but it?s annoying.
    A Buddhist monk walked up to the guy working behind a hot dog cart and said, "Make me one with everything."

    "Even what those with the greatest reputation for knowing it all claim to understand and defend are but opinions..." -Heraclitus

  10. #10
    Try pasting in as plain text or I gues on a mac it's "match style". It a problem with the character encoding

    Quote Originally Posted by Oddity View Post
    I?ve been having text encoding issues for a little while now. Maybe a couple/few weeks.

    Quotes and apostrophes aren?t being converted correctly at post time. I can go back and edit them in, and they show up fine during preview, but during the initial post encoding they?re not being recognized and are being replaced with question mark (normal for encoding error).

    I don?t know if something changed in the character set of iOS, which recently updated to v11, or what, but it?s annoying.

Similar Threads

  1. Movies featuring characters with disabilities
    By Max in forum Ability & Disability News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2002, 05:07 PM
  2. Characters of CareCure
    By Jeff in forum Life
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-05-2001, 03:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •