Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting a new cushion

Getting a new cushion

Hello,
    I have been using a Jay 3 with gel for many years now (Jay 2 before that). Knock on wood, no skin issues. Well, the cushion needs to be replaced. I was told that the Jay X2 was a good one. I see folks using the Ride Java too. Generally, I have stayed with gel because I don't want to/nervous about monitoring air (my tires are enough ).

So, has anyone had any good/bad experiences with any of the main cushions out there? I'm a T4 para who will use it in an old TiLite ZR (probably getting a new chair in the next 6 months too).

Thanks a lot for any input.
    Last edited by rye1945; 08-24-2017 at 07:04 PM.

The best is to get a cushion evaluation done with computerized interface pressure testing on a variety of cushions. There is no one "best" cushion for everyone...if there were, there wouldn't be so many different ones on the market.

(KLD)
    The SCI-Nurses are advanced practice nurses specializing in SCI/D care. They are available to answer questions, provide education, and make suggestions which you should always discuss with your physician/primary health care provider before implementing. Medical diagnosis is not provided, nor do the SCI-Nurses provide nursing or medical care through their responses on the CareCure forums.

This question comes up a lot. I personally have had good results with the Supracor Classic XS, possibly with the extra height option.

yah I'm with xs, supracor is good on my butt, 20 yrs now no issues. I have 2 going at all times, rotate and wash weekly. when you wash a supracor it fluffs back up.
    Bike-on.com rep
    John@bike-on.com
    c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
    sponsored handcycle racer

I used a roho at first and then went to a jayx2 that has worked great. I've been having trouble finding a new cover for it though. Any ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by royb View Post