Thread: Trouble changing catheter

Trouble changing catheter

I've been having trouble changing suprapubic catheter, hoping somebody can offer some advice. I've been using a suprapubic catheter for about five years, started using the duette about six months after it was installed. Twice recently (a couple months apart), haven't been able to get the Duette to go through the stoma. When that didn't work, tried a regular catheter which wouldn't go through either. Went to the emergency room, they initially try a regular catheter for about 30 minutes with no luck. Both times, they eventually tried a catheter with a coude tip which went through the stoma almost immediately. I'm assuming because of the stiffness of the tip. The coude catheter is causing mild dysreflexia, which is the reason I started using the Duette in the first place. The only explanation they can give me is that the stoma tries to close up immediately after removing the catheter, but the new one is always attempted to be installed in less than a minute. Is there anything I can do beforehand to keep the stoma open?

Two things can help.
    1. knowing the direction of your stoma. No they aren't just straight in. I have to insert the catheter at an angle that points toward my belly button.
    2. a stylet is a thin wire that slips inside the catheter and makes the catheter stiffer and easier to insert. You will need instruction from a nurse for use.

See more about these in the following.

See this thread, my post #7 and others
    http://sci.rutgers.edu/forum/showthr...tylet+catheter

See this thread, my post #5
    http://sci.rutgers.edu/forum/showthread.php?257540-New-Placement-of-Suprapubic-Tube&highlight=stylet+catheter

Last edited by gjnl; 08-02-2017 at 08:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gjnl View Post
    Two things can help.
    1. knowing the direction of your stoma. No they aren't just straight in. I have to insert the catheter at an angle that points toward my belly button.