Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: how many catheters do you pack when traveling?

how many catheters do you pack when traveling?

I'm going on a cruise for 7 days later this month and packing 42 cath kits (I cath roughly every 4 hours) seems a bit daunting. Any advice?

Sort-of on topic... Have you ever tried washing and re-using caths? I only take 12-14 catheters when I travel.

- soak in the sink in hot water and just a tiny bit of bleach
    - wash with soap and water
    - rinse
    - let hang dry
    - pack in Ziploc bag (I re-use bags for a week)

I've been re-using for 15 years now and I've only had about 5 UTIs in that time. I know I'm lucky in that regard, but if you've never tried washing and re-using you should. It'll really lighten your load.
    It might take a couple weeks to try it out and get your technique right. You might get a UTI while you're experimenting. Or your body might not like the idea at all. But it's worth a shot?

I'm thinking this might be the best option. Can you travel with bleach? I think the key is developing a system like you have. This is new and scary for me but even my urologist says using sterile catheters doesn't lead to less infections. So bleach, soap, ziplock bags, and clips to hang your catheters? Thanks for your advice!

Take the 42. Your on vacation and don't want to screw around washing out catheters. I take the same amount but always add a few extra. Have a great cruise.

When cruising with my mother, we always took the #of catheters used daily X #of days of the cruise + 3 extra days. Didn't use cath kits though. Clean technique with a new catheter each time; used this for 25 years...