Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shipping a wheelchair advice.

Shipping a wheelchair advice.

I have 3 solid frame chairs I want to sell and am interested in finding the best method to ship them to whoever buys them. I lost a good amount of weight not long ago and am now using smaller frames then 2 of these chairs, and the other has a seat size and angle that I can't use. I have no experience in this. I have seen a thread on this subject on another site a while back but but don't remember what was the best methods. However I remember that using the airlines, or Greyhound bus lines seemed to be a favored, or cheaper method. Who out there has done this, and how did you do this? If you use an airline do you have to pack the chair in boxes or just let them have it like I was flying with them, or can I maybe just pull the wheels off and secure em to the frame?

How about shipping it using the bus lines like Greyhound? Do you have to box it up with them, or just take it apart and secure the wheels, axles, and accessories to the frame, and let em have it?

There has to be a good number of yall out there with some experience with this subject, let's hear what "adventures" this community has had doing this, and what has worked, and what has gone wrong. Any thoughts on what it will cost to ship a lightweight chair. How bout the differences in price between using the standard shippers (FedEx, UPS, etc.) and the airlines-bus lines?

I need my floor space back! I also I can use the money to get a spare chair the size that I use now. What do all yall have to say?

Greyhound could be a hassle. First, your terminal selection is limited, so drop off and pickup could involve along ride. Best bet would be to call them as far as prep for shipping.

I can tell you that FEDEX is by far the cheapest when it comes to shipping larger items. But, it will need to be boxed up. And make sure that it's boxed up as small as possible because you have to watch dimensional weight charges.