Thread: Does anyone have a Permomobil standing chair

Blog Entries

Does anyone have a Permomobil standing chair

I am desperate for real experience on this front. Can it get you really truly fully upright and weight-bearing? Are your legs and back at 180?. If the chair capable of that? Can it be adjusted to make that happen?

I demo'd one and it's definitely weight bearing.
    T3-T7 complete since Sept 2015

My daughter got the Permobil F5 VS in December and yes, it is weight bearing. Just an awesome piece of engineering. She loves it!

I have a Permobil F5VS stander. Yes, you do get fully upright although not exactly straight up and down. I am a few degrees from vertical. It is weight bearing. I got the chair instead of a stander.

I've been using a helium for about 5 years now. I has replaced my tilite as my everyday chair. It's weight bearing, but I'm angled back about 5 degrees and my knees are slightly bent. I don't think you want your legs to be perfectly straight because I'm thinking there's a chance you can hyperextend your legs. It's been extremely useful to have although the construction is nowhere near that of my tilite.

I have the permobil lifestand helium, it is weight bearing. If you are looking for manual standing chair, it is great. I can take some pics tonight and post.
    Ryan

If you want to be upright, that's one thing. I have a standing manual chair, but rarely use it because it is big heavy and cumbersome, but the times when I need it, I am glad to have it.

Whether something is "properly" weight bearing shouldn't matter to you. There is no known benefit of weight bearing in SCI and there are robust studies to show that it does not increase bone density or decrease fractures relative to nonweight bearing. It was a nice theory, but I suspect true increase in bone strength is due more to the micro-trauma of walking/running/jumping/etc that helps build bones in the first place.