Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bladder/Bowel Care Question

Bladder/Bowel Care Question

Quick questions about bladder/bowel function. I take 2 mg daily of Detrol to help manage my overactive neurogenic bladder. I am a T-5 incomplete. My question is twofold: is 2mg daily a fairly low dose of Detrol? I don't think it's helping me as much as it should...I probably urinate 8-12 times a day and would like to lower this.

Also, as a musician, I need to be quick in the bathroom during rehearsals and concert situations. I have learned that to fully empty my bladder (though I can void on my own) I can also use digital stimulation in my rectum. I often don't have time to sit and wait (I take Flomax for this reason), so I often resort to "Plan F". "F" of course stands for finger. Plan F is fairly reliable. The only downside to it that I have noticed is finding a way to the sink to wash my hands without touching things. My question is this: Is this dig stim method common in SCI patients as a way to help void the bladder? I used to use it solely for the bowel, but now it's more all-purpose. Do I run the risk of long term damage to my body if I continue this practice? I am gentle with it, btw. But I ask this only because it has never failed me when I need to go quickly, and I would assume there must be a catch to this method. Thanks so much for the reply!

Dave
    "Leela, you look beautiful. Incidentally, my favorite artist is Picasso."

I've never heard of digital stimulation to empty the bladder.

How do you manage your bladder, condom catheter, intermittent catheterization, other?

Have you had urodynamics studies to determine bladder pressures and residuals.
    Last edited by gjnl; 03-18-2017 at 11:03 PM.