Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Alternative catheter extension

Alternative catheter extension

I've been using straight catheters for several years and one of the things I'm not satisfied with is the commercially available extensions. The ones I've used have all been made out of vinyl tubing which is packaged and sold in pretty tight coils. The tubing remembers that shape and wants to spring back into that shape. I too often have had the extension jump out of the toilet as it springs back. So I made an extension out of an old catheter. I snipped the end off to get rid of this side outlets. Then I got a short length of 1/4 inch vinyl tubing to join my extension with the fresh catheter that I will be using in me. The quarter inch tubing can be whatever length you want above about two inches. Eight inches works out about right for me. Of course the used catheters are free and the vinyl tubing is inexpensive. I think I paid less than $3 for 25 feet of it, certainly a lifetime supply. The system works great. It's much easier to control and a used catheter rapper makes a great storage container.

It's much easier to control and a used catheter rapper makes a great storage container.

Sorry, couldn't resist!

(KLD)

Speaking of catheter wrappers, that's what I use as an extension. Was forced to improvise one time and found it is much more convenient than carrying around an extra (quickly dirty) extension tube when i'm out and about.