Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lower Powerchair

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Lower Powerchair

I've been using a Permobil C500 Lowrider for 10yrs. Yesterday I received my Permobil F3 but ran into an issue that it sits to tall. (Permobil discontinued the lowrider.) I'm 6'4 so now with this chair my head is in the roof of my 14" dropped floor van and my legs are too close to my handcontrols. I've been using J2 cushions since 2000 with no skin issues but they asked if I'd like to try a ROHO to maybe sit lower. I'm needing to sit 2 inches lower. My C500 measures 16 from floor to seat pan where my F3 is almost 18. My rep asked if we could run a smaller rear caster but Permobil said no. Any suggestions?
    John-B

I think you may be limited to a lower cushion as Permobil integrates power seating. I know Amysystems and Quickie du ultra low STF heights.

I use a low profile 2" ROHO but depending on your diagnosis it may not offer proper protection.

I share you pain. I'm the same height and I know how every fraction of an inch is important to being able to access under tables, desks, and sinks and function in lowered floor vans. I just took delivery on a Permobil m300. It has 8 inch seat elevation and the lowest seat to floor (STF) height I can achieve with Group 24 batteries is 17.5 inches. If I didn't have seat elevation, I've been told I could get 16.5 inch STF height with Group 24 batteries. If you go with Group 34 batteries, you might pick up an inch. But Group 34 batteries aren't as highly rated as Group 24. So there would be trade offs.

All the reviews and specs that I have read indicate the lowest STF height on the f3 is 17.5 inches. Hopefully you'll hear from some members who are f3 users.

All the best,
    GJ