Thread: 2004 Ford freestar

2004 Ford freestar

Greetings, I am new to this forum. I am getting a used Freestar for my disabled husband. Is there any one using this vehicle for their loved one? Also unfortunately the RAMP and passenger door does not work automatically. the buttons do not respond tho it seems to power up. If i have to use it, i have to manually crankle it open. Would any of you know whether it can be repaired ? Else is there any light weight Ramp I can use rather than manually opening it every time ? Thanks in advance. Any advice is welcome as i am brand new to this usage.

Do you know the type of handicapped conversion the van has, i.e., Braun, VMI, Freedom etc.?

Have you searched the internet to find out if you have a wheelchair dealer/repair near you?

The ramp can possibly be repaired, if the conversion company is still in business and parts are available or you can find a dealer who has been around long enough to know about older conversions and has spare parts in stock.

All the best,
    GJ

Thanks a bunch GJ. Am getting the car on Saturday 22nd, will respond with the make and check if they are around. As far as I searched there were no makers of accessible stuff for cars in my city Stamford. Will check again .

Make sure you have a good mechanic inspect the underneath of the Freestar before you purchase it.

Chances are something can be done to make the ramp thats in it work easily in a manual mode.

These vans were never very popular and there are very few still alive in the New England area.

It would also be best if you could figure out the name of the company that converted it.

You wouldn't want to buy one with a grey market lowered floor conversion.

fwiw: Most of the
    Freestar/Winstars in New England have rotted/rusted and fallen apart.

Jim
    Jim, MA, MMET
    Bridgewater, MA

Thanks Jim.
    1. "inspect the underneath of the Freestar" : Whats should the mechanic look for in the underneath