Thread: Anyone know about Meloxicam?

Anyone know about Meloxicam?

My GP has been wanting me to try Meloxicam. I'm pretty wary. I don't like Vicodin but I've been on it for 20+ years and I know the side-effects and it's never made me sick.

I love the idea of not being intoxicated by the Vicodin and instead using an anti-inflammatory. If it worked, that would be great. But I am worried when I hear about the possible side-effects including stroke. I don't want G.I. problems, rashes, whatever. But if it worked ..

So I am wondering if anyone here has experience with Meloxicam know about it. Google isn't making me feel okay about it, I would prefer to hear from people. I've had lots of experiences with drugs, especially when I started 20 years ago. I remember having one help me with pain, it was great, until I was doubled over because of stomach pain. Another drug gave me diplopism (double vision). My life pretty much works. I would like it to be better and not taking Vicodin would make me pretty happy but does anyone know how risky Meloxicam is?

sigh, wish I could say something good, did nothing for me but I've always been willing to try. No bad side effects, just no help. -ket

Thank you for the the information. I feel too worried about the side effects to try it. Been putting the decision off. When all my stuff first started I tried whatever the doctors gave me and I had all sorts of problems. Feldene worked better than anything until I was doubled over with abdominal pain, stuff like that. I know it's just my own fantasy but I wish there was something that at night could electronically send a signal to my brain to shut off the pain signals. Heck, would be nice to wear something like that all day :-)

Your GP is following the new "playbook" for pain management.

http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/65/rr/rr6501e1.htm

"Determining When to Initiate or Continue Opioids for Chronic Pain"