Thread: Wheelchair design

Wheelchair design

Greetings, my name is Julian and i am a design student currently working on a project regarding Design and disability, specifically around manual wheelchairs. I have a few questions that for anyone who has been in, or knows someone that has spent a large amount of time in a wheelchair.

1. firstly what do you like about your chair(things you wouldnt want to change)?

2. What dont you like?

3. what environments do you experience particular difficulties in navigating that maybe arent being addressed?

4. Do you have any ideas for improvements to your chair?

Answers to any or all of these questions would be greatly appreciated, Thank you!

1. Titanium, very lightweight

2. pointed edges of front seat

3. grass and gravel

4. less cost
    Roses are red. Tacos are enjoyable. Don't blame immigrants, because you're unemployable.

T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

Can you consider a design similar to a Dyson Vacum? You can imagine a much smoother, more accessible wheelchair over tough terrain if you can construct something with one large (beach) ball design. Somehow push rims would have to be constructed along with a seating frame that would remain stable.

1) Ti chair light and bare metal which looks good no worries about scratches or nicks

2) sharp edges around front castors that gouge into my cabinets when trying to get close to the counter. Scissor brakes that open randomly

3)anything off the pavement also hills (unstable)

4) Cost is huge from the price of the chair to the cost of seat cushions/wheels/ brakes All ridiculously expensive.

Quote Originally Posted by SUdesign View Post
    Greetings, my name is Julian and i am a design student currently working on a project regarding Design and disability, specifically around manual wheelchairs. I have a few questions that for anyone who has been in, or knows someone that has spent a large amount of time in a wheelchair.