Thread: Poll: What is the best ceiling lift?

Poll: What is the best ceiling lift?

I've been using SureHands for 20 years and love it. The Body Support System makes it so easy to get into the wheelchair and bed. Any other ceiling lift compare to it?

I use the surehands lift have been satisfied with its dependability. I started with the body support system and I feel it for my shoulder apart, placing excessive pressure to the posterior shoulder capsule. I even padded both shoulder cups one t- foam. I have since gone to the body sling and it is a world of difference. In my opinion, if you're not going to be using the lift by yourself you should not get the body support system. It only takes a minute to throw the sling behind your back and under your thighs and get lifted up. If you get the body support system and it doesn't work out for you will have wasted $800 which could have been spent on the sling. Mind you, your shoulder may feel fine at first but after a year or so may experience every day shoulder pain. And I am sufficiently strong to keep my shoulders depressed which some other quads are unable to do I prevent the shoulder cups from riding up into the shoulder joint.

We had a SureHands body support sling for my mother, but as her MS progressed it started causing major problems with shoulder impingement (as above) and pain for her, as well as making it more difficult for her to breathe. We had our mounted on a Barrier Free CTL motor (actually two in different parts of the house), so we just replaced those with a straight spreader bar and a hygiene sling (bought one from Arjo) and that worked well for her for both comfort and safety. She was never able to use the body support or the fabric sling independently; they were always applied by family members or PCAs.

(KLD)