Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New mercedes sprinter wheelchair van and experience

New mercedes sprinter wheelchair van and experience

I'm starting this thread to share my experience in purchasing a new wheelchair van. It will be a work in progress because I don't have the attention span to type a bunch at once and I have a lot to say. I'm an engineer and I researched this purchase for a couple of years, while raising money because when you say wheelchair you add zeros. My intention is to make this helpful for someone else.

First, I didn't even consider a minivan. I currently have a minivan that I've nicknamed that I can't say here. Prior to my injury I was a truck guy for life.

Needs and desires: Needed something that both my wife and I can drive so driving from my chair wasn't an issue (rant to follow). Wanted something to do some camping with, but also conscious of the mpg.

I ended up purchasing a 2015 Mercedes Sprinter 4 cyl diesel with a 7 speed transmission cargo van. I'm having a Braun Vangater lift installed in the side door (rant to follow). I had Van Specialties in Portland add a bench seat that turns into a bed, windows all the way around, roof vent/fan, and rubberized flooring. The guys at VP are awesome. I plan to transfer on longer outings and ride in my chair on shorter ones.

I've added a few pics pre-lift.

I'll follow up later with some more pictures and more info about my experience. My experience with the mobility industry has been mostly negative...unfortunately.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

I will be curious of your progress....
    C5-6 Complete - 8/13/1982

Me too. Nice looking van.

+1. I'm not normally a van guy, but that restyled Sprinter I actually like. Really sharp looking

sweet ride.
    Bike-on.com rep
    John@bike-on.com
    c4/5 inc funtioning c6. 28 yrs post.
    sponsored handcycle racer