Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hand Rims

Hand Rims

Quick Bio:

Injury: C-6 complete from diving accident in 1976.....39 years post
    Health: Good

Hello All,

I have been buying foam hand rims from SportAid for 25 years now for about $99 a pair. They would last a year and then I would re-purchase, at $99 who cares that they last a year. Now, I have been told due to some government regulation the manufacturing process has been halted and they are unavailable. So I tried Q-Grip and they sucked, after 1 week they felt just like black vinyl hand rims. I then saw my old foam hand rims on the Melrose website for $360 a pair. Since I have more money than sense I bought them out of desperation. They suck and are not as good as the $99 pair from Sportaid. Does anybody know where or how I can get a tacky hand rim? I have read the other threads on this forum on hand rims and it looks like the only pair I have NOT tried is Blax, but I am afraid they will also suck.

P.S. - for the last three years I have had severe neck pain and numbness and tingling in my arms, shoulders and hands. My friends said I had a syrinx, but my surgeon said that would be extremely rare. A CT and MRI proved him right and was diagnosed with spinal stenosis and arthritis at C-5. He did a single level neck fusion and I went home the next day.....the pain was completely gone as soon as I woke up from the anesthesia. What does this have to do with hand rims ? It has been 4 weeks since my surgegry and I am feeling stronger than a fuc**ing bull. I have muscles that are getting reactivated that went dormant for years because of the bad C-5. I feel like I could go back to playing quad rugby again at 59. But, I cannot get a decent grip on my hand rims to reach my full potential. Hell, quad knobs would be better than this.....these foam rims are slicker then eel shit. Help !!!!

Ronnie
    Last edited by reaton; 08-03-2015 at 08:32 PM.

Ronnie,