Thread: Newly injured c7 complete.

Newly injured c7 complete.

I been home for two days now, I moved back into my parents house after living on my own for 10 years. The hardest part is losing my Independance, I know as time goes on I will gain a lot of it back as I am very strong minded and push myself hard.

I just wanted to share my experience and how I ended up here , I was driving to visit a good friend of mine in the upstate New York area. A guy pissed off at the world drives right up my ass , goes around me and slows down so I sped up and got into the lane to the right of me as I did this he cuts me off and jams on the brakes. I am a pretty good driver I hit my brakes hard managed to miss him and other cars, but I slid off the road missing concrete divider and trees but my car caught a ditch and rolled 4x at 70 + mph with no seat belt. I some how remained conscious and remember it all, was even able to give emt/Police vehicle description , plate number and emergency contact numbers for them to call.

I was brought to a local hospital first when they realized the severity of my injury , I was transferred to Albany med and operated on later that night, I had a c7 burst fracture that was very terrifying as the doctor put it. They removed my c7 , replaced withe another piece of bone and fused together. I then spent 2 months in the ICU on a vent for a month.

Once I left there I went to mount Sinai rehab ( Great Facilty) for 9 weeks where I worked really hard to strengthen my arms which I'm thankful to have.

Thanks for listening , Nick

Welcome to CareCure. You will find a lot of other people who have led the way in dealing with this type of injury, and who can provide you lots of information and advice. Please get active in all our forums.

(KLD)