Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am a Medical Device Designer and I need your expertise!

I am a Medical Device Designer and I need your expertise!

Hey everyone,
    My name is Matthew Lynch,
    I am studying a masters in Medical Device Design in NCAD, Dublin Ireland.
    I am currently doing some developmental research for my project.
    Working with John Horrigan (Cara Mobility Design) to develop a wheelchair mobility arm.
    As a part of my masters I am required to develop 3 separate concepts with regards, to improving wheelchair users mobility. I have seen from the community care forums that this is a valuable source of information that could help me design the best product with your expertise I might be able to develop a product that is actually useful for wheelchair users that is well informed.
    I am looking at the broad spectrum right now during my research, and was wondering if i could pick your brains in relation to problem areas, such as unanswered/ unmet needs for wheel chair users.
    The current areas I am looking in would be:
    Hobbies
    Personal hygiene
    Posture
    Health
    Technology
    Rehabilitation
    Sports
    Outdoor activities
    Travel
    Everyday tasks

In a sense a good way to think about what I'm asking is what pisses you off about being in a wheelchair, the day to day things the big, small problems you face every day.
    It's important for me to understand the users needs when creating new concepts.
    I'm aware that most people find wheelchairs quite freeing but what I want to know about is the parts where it gets in the way of your daily life !
    If you had any sort of insights in to problem areas or potential gripes ( unanswered/unmet mobility needs) in this area could you point me in the right direction, to where I could potentially narrow my focus.
    I would be really appreciative of any information you could give me,
    Thanks so much guys
    Matt