Thread: Suprapubic catheter build up problems

Suprapubic catheter build up problems

This is a request to the members of this community to see if any of you know some methods to reduce the amount of sediment and calcium in my urine due to my suprapubic catheter. Or if there are any solutions that will help dissolve this stuff when I irrigate, and help me prevent the catheters from becoming clogged on a regular basis. I drink a lot (70+ Oz.) of filtered water daily, no soft drinks or coffee. Mostly I drink filtered water. Even drinking this amount of clean water the catheters will last maybe 10 days before being virtually clogged.

I have been using these catheters for almost 30 years, and since insurance will pay for only one catheter a month I am forced to remove the catheter, physically break up the virtually solid accumulation of sediment and calcium, (at least that's what I think it is) flush the catheter clean with sterile water and then reinsert it. I carefully clean my hands, and the area with alcohol, and I have had no UTIs in nearly 10 years, so what I?m doing must be working. That being said this amount of crud coming out of, or through my bladder cannot be good.

I presently, and have been using Bard Silastic (green) catheters, and am wondering if another kind, or brand might be more effective at reducing, or controlling the amount of sediment produced in my body. There appears to be mostly two kinds of sediment being produced. One is heavier and more granular, which drains easily. I am presuming this is mostly calcium, and the other looks more, let's say biological, softer, kinda fibrous, and harder to get to flow out, more clingy.