Thread: Does anyone here use Magic Wheels?

Does anyone here use Magic Wheels?

Any users on here or opinion on these as opposed to e-motion wheels or a smart drive?

Yes, I've been using MagicWheels as my everyday wheels for several years now, and I love them, But they do have some quirks;they serve a niche purpose; they're not for everyone. Look at this advanced search result for more info. "magicwheels" "chasmengr" all dates, in entire post.

For me they make ascending steep slopes possible; they are always a little noisy, and they require good shoulders/arm/hand strength; they are not power assist, they are mechanical assist, and are great if you want some exercise and freedom from batteries. They enable me to take the city bus anywhere without having foreknowledge of the terrain where I disembark; with MWs, I'm confident I can navigate between bus stops or to my final destination (e.g., steep slopes, broken paving, etc). They do not provide speed - ascending slopes in low gear is quite slow, but it's great exercise (Descending slopes is great, too, but caster flutter may become an issue because of the possible high speeds - I wear a helmet when coasting down hill.)

I have Surge handrims on mine - good grip is important when climbing hills.

I've used neither emotions nor smart drive.

NOTES:
    - I can stand and walk a bit, enough to cross small obstacles like a curb.
    - MWs are not good for curb jumping and muddy or sandy conditions; I use them 99% on paving.
    - Do not buy a used set from a user; they're likely damaged. It's okay to buy a refurbished set from the manufacturer: Provail.
    - New or refurbished, they're plagued with internal loose parts after a couple months of use. I partially disassembled mine (because customer service proved to be poor), replaced some bearings and reassembled with Loctite (user dis-assembly voids the warranty), after which they work great.