Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tire Pressure?

Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tire Pressure?

This is my first set of pneumatic tires. On them, it says to keep the PSI at 85 - 145. Do you keep them closer to the lower or higher end of that scale?

Also, since you lose some of the pressure while taking the pump's nozzle off (If you're not quick about it, at least, haha), how big of a difference between the two tires would it take to notice it, or to cause a problem? For instance, if one is at 85 PSI and the other is at 75 PSI, would you notice it?

Thanks again everyone for all the the help. I appreciate it very much.

I've been rocking Schwalbe's for a couple years now. I used to keep them at 110-115psi, only because I was using a manual pump and my arms would give out around there, but I'm a lazy bastard, so I usually wouldn't pump them up again until they were down around 70 psi. You can definitely tell a big difference between the two, much easier to roll at higher pressures, and less squeaky on linoleum floors when turning.

Now my manual pump is a little busted, and I had to buy a home depot electric pump, the best I could find only gets me to 90psi. It's acceptable... i guess... but if I could find a pump capable of it, I'd run 120+ all day long.

If I was you, I'd fill it up to 85 psi and run around for a couple days, then pump it up as high as your pump will go (if you've got one that can reach 145psi, let me know what brand, cuz I want that!). See if you notice a difference.

I run them at 100 and the Black and Decker Air station and the Goodyear I5000 will both pump them up to the max of 145psi if you like. You can get either on Amazon I have one of each, one upstairs and one in the basement. There are others that will do the job as well...

Quote Originally Posted by User Name View Post
    ...clip...Also, since you lose some of the pressure while taking the pump's nozzle off (If you're not quick about it, at least, haha)...clip...