Thread: Power Chair Decision...

Power Chair Decision...

Well, the time has come. My shoulders don't like me anymore, so I'm looking at getting my first powerchair. I'm going tonight for a "test drive". I'm looking at the Permobile 300 and 350 and the Edge by Quantum. Does anyone have any experience with these chairs? My main concern is getting around in the yard and off the pavement with the kids.
    Stupidity ain't illegal, but it sure is inconvenient.

Help me support the 2010 Bike MS.

I have been using an M300 for almost 3 years. I have not had any problems in my backyard or the adjacent park. It has proven to be a good outdoor chair, but the ride is a bit rough. Not having used other power chairs, I do not know how it compares. I tried Permobil Front, rear, and mid-wheel drives and found the M300 to be the best for getting around tight spaces in doors.
    You will find a guide to preserving shoulder function @
    http://www.rstce.pitt.edu/RSTCE_Reso...imb_Injury.pdf

See my personal webpage @
    http://cccforum55.freehostia.com/

Quote Originally Posted by WheelieMike View Post
    Well, the time has come. My shoulders don't like me anymore, so I'm looking at getting my first powerchair. I'm going tonight for a "test drive". I'm looking at the Permobile 300 and 350 and the Edge by Quantum. Does anyone have any experience with these chairs? My main concern is getting around in the yard and off the pavement with the kids.
    First, I know nothing and it usually shows...
    I have a Q Edge for alittle over a year. It handles well and is pretty much has the narrowest overall width of a chair I've ever had. I was hesitant concerning going to 6 wheel technology but I got it used for $200 and figured it was best way to try 6 wheel. It has power recline and powered articulating foot platform and seat was right size. A local lady's mother had had cancer and they just wanted rid of it.