Thread: Recently Joined Forum Because of Dead Brain Tissue

Recently Joined Forum Because of Dead Brain Tissue

I am new to this forum and joined because I recently suffered severe brain damage from an accident specifically to the frontal cortex of my brain. I therefore have a large area of dead tissue. I am new to the field of stem cells and am trying to educate/learn about it on my own. Could anyone by any chance give some information about what type of stem cells/procedure could potentially help with this type of brain damage in the field of stem cells if you have knowledge about stem cells. I guess this would be something to ask Wise Young however since im new I am not familiar about where to ask him this.

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,
    Sog

I am not aware of any current research or therapeutic programs using stem cells to treat traumatic brain injuries in humans, either in the USA or elsewhere. I am familiar with some studies looking at this with both Parkinson's disease and Alzheimer's disease, but not TBI.

I will alert Dr. Young to your question and ask him to comment when he gets a chance.

(KLD)

Thank you so much for this response, so nice of you to reply.
    I was not sure whether to put my post in the brain injury forum as I had bleeding in the front of my brain making it almost in the category of stroke, since a lot of strokes have bleeding in the brain which leads to the dead tissue.
    That would really be helpful if Dr. Young had any knowledge about how I could keep up to date with the research on this. I know that the science for stem cells is not quite there yet but If I could learn about stem cells on my own then whenever something does come along (in the future) I would have the knowledge to know if its ligit or not and if it could help. First I have to learn about stem cells though, to know the answer to what could potentially help this type of damage.

Thank you again.
    Sincerely,
    Sog