Thread: Wheelchair friendly tents

Wheelchair friendly tents

Do they exist?

Was looking at something along these lines, but not sure how a powerchair would get through the doorway, and/or if the tires would damage the tent floor? I was thinking a plastic floormat could be used by the air mattress so that a lift could roll smoothly. Thoughts?

http://www.coleman.com/product/weath...s#.U2-7EsZpul4

I actually used an SUV tent. I slept in the back of my vehicle to avoid the floor to chair transfer.
    Not sure about the door way in a power chair.

For me, the tent pegs kept the sides of the tent down enough that I could just pop a wheelie over it. The floor of the tent is a heavy plastic, but might get bungled up in the wheels depending on the chair.

From a small cabin in the big woods of The Allegheny National Forest, PA
    I have over 45 years of experience using all types of tents. If you are using a powerchair, it would be good idea to avoid tents with the floor sewn in. Any turn at all in the chair may pull at the tent and potentially pull out the stakes or tug at the poles holding the tent erect. Usually a tent with a floor has some tent material between the zipper and the floor and driving over the zipper or the seam that attaches the floor may damage both.

Personally, I would select a wall tent. A 6 foot person can stand up inside and if your using some type of ground sheet, you can always straighten it up when it wrinkles or pulls. You may not require a ground sheet or cover, done it often but before I was hurt. A good hard dirt or grass floor would be fine and the ground sheet could just be under the air mattress or whatever you decide to sleep on. A cot may also work and may be easier to pick you up from. Concerned about how high the lift would need to rise inside the tent though.

They also make air mattresses that are 3 feet tall off the ground when inflated. A wood stove can also be used in some wall tent's.