Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with seat height

Help with seat height

I am finalizing my order for a Tilite 2GX and dont feel real comfortable with the seat heights my rep is recommending and would appreciate any help in making sure I get these right on my order. I measure 18" from floor to back of knee so he is recommending. Rear seat height 17"; Front seat height 18". Also I am not sure if 1" dump is enough but he said 2" is quite a bit.

A CCC member (SCI_OTR, a professional wheelchair seating clinician) wrote the attached fabulous article. Maybe he'll chime in here.

Having determined only my own measurements, I am an amateur, but the TiLite AeroZ1 ordered per my measuring fits really well, so I'll offer an opinion. Getting these values right is a bit complex.

My method: Determine what Front Angle you want. Make a to-scale sketch of that angle and the floor. Assume your footrest will be level, and sketch it in horizontally (parallel to the floor) about 2.5" above the floor. (That height is the bottom of your shoe, and allows some ground clearance below for the thickness of the footrest tubing.). When you're seated with feet flat on the floor, have someone measure the back of your leg from the floor (bottom of your heel with typical footwear on) to the back of your thigh at the knee. Sketch that length along the angle of your Front End starting at the footrest line (or use trigonometry to calculate it). From the upper end of your leg-measurement line, draw a vertical line to the floor. Measure that vertical line and subtract your compressed cushion thickness (often about 2" but varies). The result is your FSH. (See EDIT below.)

To me RSH is mostly independent of FSH. IMO RSH should be set for best pushing efficiency, and dump should just be the resulting difference FSH-RSH whatever that may be. The RSH should put your middle fingertip at the same height as the center of your rear-wheel axle.