Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Building a Segway Wheelchair - SegChair

Building a Segway Wheelchair - SegChair

Hello Everyone,
    I am new to this stuff just made my account today. Anyway ive been looking into these Segway wheelchairs for a long time and decided make the big leap of faith and attempt to build my own. I was a Union Iron Worker be for my accident so i know how to work the metal. The company i was foreman for gave me a huge opportunity to grow within the company and hired me as a estimator. the also own a painting company and a steel fabrication shop. so we have a unlimited supply of metals and machines to make my ideas come to life!!
    So Lets get started with this thing eh? I bought a Segway I2 off Ebay 2 weeks ago for $3,600 and came with brand new batteries for a extra 250. So im into it for 3850 now. Batteries are the main thing you need to be careful with these things. esp. since the run about 12-1400 bucks!!
    as far as the seat, i was going to build it out of a wheelchair. Then since we have a tube bender i was going to build my own chair.. now my ideas have shifted one more. my final choice was to make it out of a Boat seat! There small, low back and it has a professional look to it.
    After i bought the Segway i started to have regrets because that was a Shit load of money and i could have put it to better use. The Pros out weighed the Cons. But spending that money on it made me want to make it the best i can. Who knows it might turn into something!

there was a guy at the abilities expo showing off his segway chair, i think he was selling them to-order at $10k. good luck on your project! segway chairs are pretty neat and capable, so it's always good to see more ideas and innovators in the area.
    T6 incomplete - 14 october 2012