Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Wheelchair measurements -Lots of opinions wanted :)

Wheelchair measurements -Lots of opinions wanted :)

These are the specs for a Colours Razorblade. I'm going to finalize everything tomorrow with my DME. This will be my first real chair since becoming injured almost 7 years ago. I'm no expert so I'd really like to know what everyone thinks of these measurements. Please don't waste anytime commenting about how much you hate Colours because that is irrelevant to this post.

Seat Width- 15
    Seat Depth- 17
    Footrest width- 10
    Frame Angle - 90
    Backrest height- 16
    Front seat height - 18.5
    Rear seat height- 16.5
    Center of gravity- 2.5
    Camber- 2
    Front of seat sling to front of footrest-15
    Inside wheel clearance- 1
    25 inch wheels
    3 inch casters
    Stimulite Sport cushion

My only comment is--please be careful with those 3" casters. I had 3 inchers on my Colours Eclipse and it caused me problems on uneven surfaces. My casters got caught on an uneven concrete ramp while I was carrying something and I endoed. Broke my femur bad. After I switched to 4" wheels, things were better. The Razorblade looks like it's a short chair front to back like the Eclipse.

illinois, and no, chicago is not anywhere near where i live
    the 3 inch casters would be my concern. those are little rock/crack catchers.
    i had a chair with 1 inch inside wheel clearance and it stuck out a lot farther than it thought when i ordered it. ended up getting a shorter camber tuber.

I must be totally oblivious to how my chair operates when I'm in it because I just switched from 4 inch casters to 3 and I don't notice any difference. And I just have some cheap $30 light up casters on I got from Sportaid