Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "certification" for hand controls?

Unhappy "certification" for hand controls?

I'm having trouble getting hand controls put on a different vehicle because the folks(I've talked to people in FL and GA) want me to show a certificate that I've been trained to drive with them! I've been driving with hand controls for 28 years on several vehicles and this has never come up before. I had my rehab at Warm Springs and one day, back then, a woman took me out into an open field in a car with hand controls. I showed I was competent and that was that. BUT to get them to find info to document that in order to certify me has been a rat's nest of bureaucracy! Anybody else have this problem? Sure, I could get new training but understand from these installers it'd be @$750! Help!

That is interesting. All I had to do is show that my current car has them installed and the sticker that showed that a certified dealer installed them. I only needed the proof of training the first time I got hand controls installed in the car. Maybe it is a state by state thing?
    "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot nothing's going to get better. It's not." - Dr. Seuss

I know in California there is no such requirement or law. This is something the installers want. The first place I looked (Mobility Works) wouldn't even talk to me without a prescription for hand controls. The guy wouldn't answer any of my questions nor would he show me any of the hand controls they install. I was so pissed off at their attitude that I walked out and found another certified installer who didn't require any such prescription for hand controls.

I would recommend you find another installer. There is no reason to spend hundreds of dollars for this prescription.