Thread: Questions for Dr. Young

Questions for Dr. Young

Dr. Wise,

I am a paramedic, with over 20 years working in Trauma. I have followed your work for years, and am a strong believer in Solu-Medrol administration for acute spinal cord injury. However, as you know there are several trauma physicians who do not believe in this treatment.

I wanted to know your opinions on permissive hypothermia in the suspected isolated Spinal Cord Injury. Also, there is some growing emphasis in the Southeastern US for splinting cervical injuries in position of injury, unless there is an immediate life threat that requires cervical manipulation. Just wondering what your thoughts on these topics are.

Thank you for your time and effort in this response.

Thanks for what you do RM.

Quote Originally Posted by RoadMedic View Post
    Dr. Wise,

I am a paramedic, with over 20 years working in Trauma. I have followed your work for years, and am a strong believer in Solu-Medrol administration for acute spinal cord injury. However, as you know there are several trauma physicians who do not believe in this treatment.

I wanted to know your opinions on permissive hypothermia in the suspected isolated Spinal Cord Injury. Also, there is some growing emphasis in the Southeastern US for splinting cervical injuries in position of injury, unless there is an immediate life threat that requires cervical manipulation. Just wondering what your thoughts on these topics are.

Thank you for your time and effort in this response.
    Road Medic, thanks. I am not sure that I understand what you mean by "permissive hypothermia". However, there has not been any controlled clinical trial evidence that indicates significant benefit of hypothermia for acute spinal cord injury.