Thread: Indiana medicaid, catheters

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Indiana medicaid, catheters

Is there anyone here with Indiana Medicaid? And if so, where do you get your catheters?

I'm new to cathing. My urologist gave me a supply to get me started with, and recommended 180 medical. They sent me some free samples, but then said with Indiana medicaid they had to refer me elsewhere and gave me the info for Binson's. Binson's asked if I tried "the other" place for Indiana which is J&B Medical, I haven't called them yet.

I requested free samples online for some different catheters to try. I really liked the speedicath compact, and so a bunch of my friends also requested free samples of them to give me... I'm nearly out of catheters in general and need to place an order somewhere. I've only tried various regular straight caths, hydrophillic coated, and the speedicath compact. I have dexterity issues with my hands from peripheral nerve damage and muscle issues and struggle with the length of the straight caths. My hand shakes and I have trouble guiding it and frequently end up touching the catheter to somewhere before I actually get it in my urethra, so I'm a bit paranoid about giving myself a UTI. With the compact its a bit shorter in general, and I think having part to hold that isn't flexible helps me guide it better. With the hydrophillic I get a bit of burning when I remove the catheter, but feel nothing going in. With lubed catheters it burns going in. This may be due to my having trouble getting the catheter well lubed, with the shaky hands and trying to not touch too far down its really awkward and I think I probably end up with either not enough lube, or I've got too much and sometimes it will fall off the catheter or transfer onto me when I bump somewhere before finding my urethra. Since I'm so new to cathing I'm sure part of this is also technique difficulty and will get better with time.