Thread: Using VA's online MedSurg Catalog

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Using VA's online MedSurg Catalog

I got a PM asking how to use the VA's MedSurg catalog. I don't know how to attach pictures to a PM so I'm posting an example here. I'm not very good at using it, but I've played around with it, and learned a few tricks.

Let's look for an easy-to-find product: a 16x16 Stimulite Sport cushion. First you need to know the manufacturer: Supracor. Just click the drop-down menu and scroll to the Contractor Name. To narrow the search because Supracore makes a lot of stuff, enter a simple key term before you search: I chose "sport," and got lucky.

Attachment 48698

Then click the Search Button to display some results:

Attachment 48699

Then click the Catalog Number link to display more than you ever wanted to know:

Attachment 48700
    Chas
    TiLite TR3
    Dual-Axle TR3 with RioMobility DragonFly
    I am a person with mild/moderate hexaparesis (impaired movement in 4 limbs, head, & torso) caused by RRMS w/TM C7&T7 incomplete.

"I know you think you understand what you thought I said, but what I don't think you realize is that what you heard is not what I meant."
    <
    UNKNOWN AUTHOR>

Why would anyone need to learn how to do this? Accurate product information and appropriate medical justification for an item from the prescribing clinician are what are necessary for the VA to provide an item. Regarding the former, specific product information (e.g. part numbers) will be more accurate and current if it is obtained from the company selling the product.

Someone besides me thought it be would helpful, Steve, or I wouldn't have received the PM question.
    Chas
    TiLite TR3
    I am a person with mild/moderate hexaparesis (impaired movement in 4 limbs, head, & torso) caused by RRMS w/TM C7&T7 incomplete.