Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Does Everyone Here Do for Health Insurance?

What Does Everyone Here Do for Health Insurance?

I recently got divorced. I was on my wife's health insurance plan. I work as a contract employee so I get no benefits. I have been trying to find affordable health insurance for 2 months now. Currently I am paying $575 a month for COBRA. I make $32K so I am about to the bottom of my savings account. Mention the word Coumadin and the insurance salesmen run like hell. I seriously would be much better off to quit my job and go on SSI. But for some reason I feel morally obligated to tow the line.
    NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE POWER OF WATER AND FIBER

Thank the good lord for the government. Between the VA taking care of me and Tricare for my family, this is one thing I don't have to worry about. Honestly, the health care for life is worth more to me than my pension.

Of course, without the military, I wouldn't need it, but still...

You break it, you buy it. Goes for people too.
    Played with bombs- No SCI, Brain Damage enough that I require a chair and a caregiver.

I got the government plan that cost 311.00 a month with a 2000 deductible. And a lot of things aren't covered. If your plan is pretty good what your paying isn't that bad. But I would keep it and see what happens when the exchanges open up at the end of the year with obamacare. From what i'm hearing from the people that sell health ins. be prepared because premiums are going way up next year.

Quote Originally Posted by IsMaisin View Post
    You break it, you buy it. Goes for people too.
    Not for all people.

Quote Originally Posted by Patton57 View Post
    Not for all people.
    My bad. I meant for the US vets. I know it's a lot harder (a lot being the understatement of the year) for people who don't have that luxury.
    Played with bombs- No SCI, Brain Damage enough that I require a chair and a caregiver.