Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jeans and Jackets for quads

Jeans and Jackets for quads

Hello everyone! I am a design student in my senior year and I am working on a project with my bestfriend; who is a level C-6 quadriplegic, to design a clothing line. He has a lot of control over his arms, but cannot use his wrists or fingers or triceps.

Before his injury, Jordan enjoyed dressing nicely. Now he usually wears sweatpants or gym shorts because they are easy to get on, and do not get in the way when he caths himself. He finds that most pants other than sweats give him a hard time throughout the day. It is difficult to dress himself in jeans when he gets up because they are not stretchy like gym clothes and of course he then has to deal with fasteners like buttons and zippers. If he can manage to get the jeans unbuttoned and unzipped, he certainly cannot get them buttoned and zipped again. This has caused him to spend some time in public with his pants unfastened, which makes him super uncomfortable. At this point he tries to just keep himself covered with his shirt or a cat. Not being able to unfasten his pants quickly enough can cause issues for him because sometimes he must cath promtly or he could have an accident. The location of the pockets are also useless for him, but thats not his biggest concern.

We’re also going to make a jacket that is perfect for Jordan and hopefully many other quadriplegics. For now, our main goal is to figure out where pockets should be located and that are easy to access and also secure. It also has to be very warm because Jordan gets cold very easily and hates it.