Thread: What issues can I expect with in-the-canal hearing aids?

What issues can I expect with in-the-canal hearing aids?

So my hearing loss due to neuromuscular disease has gotten to the point where I've been prescribed hearing aids, but before giving the audiologist the go-ahead on ITC style aids I wanted to check here to see if others with paralysis have any problems with other people putting hearing aids in your ears. The audiologist showed me how they mark the top to get them oriented and how to get them out, but I'm worried someone will be careless or too rough and shove them in my ears incorrectly. Should I request the BTE style instead, or would I have similar issues with those?

I'm completely new to all this hearing aid stuff and would welcome any advice, no matter how trivial.

The audiologist is recommending "Starkey Ignite" hearing aids, if anyone has experience with those. The brochure offers some neat features which look to be very useful for quadriplegics, such as a remote control for adjusting volume and wireless transmitters for media streaming and cell phone use. (Which are probably not covered by insurance!)
    Last edited by Soliloquy; 01-13-2013 at 04:02 AM.

Hopefully, someone will speak up. I don't know of anyone in your situation, sorry I can't be more helpful.
    CKF

Blog Entries
    I had the type that goes in the ear canal, but not far, like the one on the left, and it drove me crazy. It itched, made my ear sore, and whenever I chewed, it made my ears pop, because the air could not get past the hearing aid. I wore them only when I absolutely had to. Four years ago, I lost them, and replaced them with the type on the right. They are comfortable, easy to program (if your hearing profile changes), no problem when chewing, and I rarely notice them though I wear them every day.