Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: How do you make people more comfortable with your disability?

How do you make people more comfortable with your disability?

I just started a new job and I am in the unenviable position of being wheelchair bound and horribly socially awkward. I'm an engineer so the awkwardness is not unheard of, but it definitely makes it harder for people to loosen up when you're disabled. I can feel the tension every time someone says the word walk. It's ridiculous, but I don't know what to do about it, and it makes people avoid me altogether. Anyone had similar experiences?

First, congratulations on your new job!

Second, you're not wheelchair bound, you're a wheelchair user.

Third, the only thing you can control is your own mindset. The more you can persuade yourself that you are a perfectly normal, valuable employee who contributes to the success of your company, the more confident and relaxed you will appear to others. This in turn will help put them at ease if they are tense or nervous about being around you.

Fourth, time will help.

It's not your job to make other people feel comfortable with your disability, but as you get more comfortable with it, things will get better.